Spotify Set to Launch in Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya & Others

by Jewel Ghene


Digital music streaming platform Spotify has announced plans to launch in 85 new countries over the next few days. The 85 new markets include countries from Africa, such as Angola, Benin, Kenya, Namibia, Ghana, Rwanda, and Nigeria. Other continents included are; Asia, the Caribbean, Europe, and Latin America,

In all 85 new markets, Spotify will offer both Spotify Free and Spotify Premium plans. Individual, Family, Duo, and Student Spotify plans will be available in select markets, Spotify said. Listeners in new markets will get to access Spotify on mobile apps and in the browser. Apps for TV, consoles, speakers, wearables, and cars will be launched in the “coming months”. Spotify's global music catalogue will be available in all new 85 markets, and it will work with local rights holder to add more local offerings.

To ensure easy usability in all of these new markets, Spotify has also officially added support for 36 new languages to its platform, including Romanian, Hindi and Swahili, so it supports more than 60 languages total. Spotify also employed the services of Afrobeats super star, Burna Boy as they began an online campaign to sensitize the new markets about their coming. In a video clip uploaded on Spotify’s official Twitter page on the 22nd of February, Burna Boy disclosed he was excited to announce that Spotify would soon launch in Nigeria and some selected countries in Africa. 

The full list of new markets includes Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Curaçao, Djibouti, Dominica, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lesotho, Liberia, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mongolia, Mozambique and many more.

Source: Spotify

Login to Post Comment